Showing posts with label personal. Show all posts
Showing posts with label personal. Show all posts

06 October 2013

An update on life in general

Thanks to the Queen of Kammebornia, who left a comment on my last post, I came back and read my last entry. An update is in order!
Physically, I'm still working at the same ward as a year ago, but the patient category has changed completely. Turns out, the hospital needed more beds devoted to acute internal medicin and infection, so all of my colleagues moved to another facility with the medically completed patients. I couldn't commute there, so I chose to stay and see what will happen here. We started the "new" ward on 16th of September, so everything is still in the works and no routines have set yet. All of my co-workers are new at the ward, a couple are brand new nurses who graduated in June, and we can't ask the older and wiser nurse because she doesn't work here.
I am now a "section leader" which means I am the boss' right hand. It also means I am always on the run, helping people with everything and nothing - drawing blood, finding pillows, ordering drugs, cleaning book-cases and organizing in general. I try to help out on the floor as much as possible, but so far I've been far too busy making sure we have all the supplies we need. I enjoy it immensely, but I am as dead as a shot duck when I get home in the afternoon. Even so, I've managed to knit quite a lot in september - or perhaps it's because I needed it to relax?
I had fun making this collage, and I know I enjoy "end of the month"-collages when they end up on other blogs, so I'll see if I will do this again. I'm not making any promises though, I know myself well enough to know it might not happen...

21 September 2011

It's fall, and I've been a bad blogger

I've said it before, and I'll say it again: I am not the most diligent blogger around. If you're reading this, I'm guessing you've already discovered that, but still find it interesting to see what I'm up to occasionally.

Since January I've graduated (I am now a RN, with the diploma to prove it), started working as a nurse at a stroke unit at the local hospital, and I've been knitting like I'm obsessed. Which usually is how my crafting works; for the past 7 years I've been an obsessed cross-stitcher, but now I don't cross any stitches at all. I'm pretty sure I will be stitching again, but for now I am completely at peace with knitting. My yarn and knitting needles make stuff that I can use, my husband doesn't think it's too small and fiddly (which he usually said about the things I stitched) and my daughter can make a wish for a new hat and have it only a week later. I can even bring it to work and pick it up on my lunch and actually see results when I come home! Yes, I will probably make a summary with pics of my FO's sometime this fall :)

I must admit to throwing out a lot of xs magazines - I did flip through them first, and took out any charts I might want to do in the future, although I was very picky doing it. Not many charts survived, most have now been turned into milk or egg cartons I believe... I've even sorted out my RSS feeds, deleting a lot of the blogs I used to follow fervently when I was a stitcher. Instead, there are knitting blogs. And ravelry, of course. The know-it-all forum for people who enjoy yarn and chat about it, and plan what to knit next... I love it there!
But then again, I used to follow the EMS Cross Stitch Forum diligently, and when I checked the link now, I hadn't been there since May. And I know for a fact that I didn't do much there then either.

I hope this finds you well; I have a mini-teen to pick up from school in 10 minutes. We're going shopping for winter boots, and they "have to have a heel" according to H. She's got serious issues with clothes and hair these days, and she's not even 8 yet. And the temper on that girl! Oh boy, will I have my hands full when she's a proper teen...

Love and cherish the day,
Anne

27 November 2010

Birthday party!

So, my daughter turned 7 today. And even though I know everyone says this, I can't believe how fast the years go by! It doesn't seem like that long ago I was watching her first steps and her first tooth, and here she is, all big and can read her own birthday cards. Happy birthday, little one!

It was quite a surprise to learn that ALL of the folks on her dad's side could come today - I don't think that has happened since she was born. There's always someone working or sick, but this time we actually got to celebrate her on the day with everyone in attendance. Lots of cake and cookies (most of it homemade) and then a huge "smörgåstårta" before everyone was so full they had to move slowly to their cars and go home. (For those not in the know, a smörgåstårta is best described as white bread sandwiches in a big cake, with whipped cream and decorated with shrimps, hard-boiled eggs, lettuce, smoked ham thinly sliced and such. The whole point is that it looks like a cake, and should have the best of everything you'd usually put on a sandwich. In layers. And lots of it.)

I'm so full I don't think I'll have to eat anything until lunch tomorrow. Nah, who am I trying to fool, of course I'll be hungry again tomorrow for breakfast, a little cake fest has never destroyed my morning appetite ;)

Lots of love!


P.s: Forgot to say that we have plenty of snow - H took her bobsleigh out yesterday and played in our garden. I have to admit, having a large parking lot at the front of the house isn't so appealing when you have to get rid of all the snow on it... I'm of course freezing, and will be seen wearing my well-used wool socks my grandma made me every chance I get. :)

28 June 2010

Heartful encounters

I spent 6 hours in the car yesterday - driving to see my husband and daughter for a few hours, before going back to my parents' house in Norway.
I'm in Norway now, see - working my butt off at an old folks' home, trying to save our meager economy for the summer. I may have learnt a lot about the differences in care here and in Sweden, but my main lesson is this: I won't be doing it again.

Not that the work is a drag or staying with my parents is so horrible, but I just can't stand being without my SO and our daughter for this long again. I haven't been separated from my hubbie for this long since we met almost 14 years ago! I msut admit that I've always thought the reason why I didn't want to visit my parents more than a week had to do with the fact that nothing really happens here - but now I know better. My restlessness has always been due to the fact that I wanted/longed to go home to my SO.

It broke my heart yesterday, leaving them again instead of going home with them.I was so close to home, yet I had to go back to Norway instead. Yes, I cried. No, I couldn't muster the voice to say "I love you" because my tears were running down my cheeks. I had to text it afterwards instead. I asked my husband when he started missing me (H started missing me the other evening, when she knew she'd see me soon) - and he answered, with oh so soft eyes: "It must have been the evening before you left." And even though I knew he was saying it because it was what I wanted to hear, my heart went all mushy and soft when he said that.
I'd much rather work the night shift again (oh horrible thought) than to leave them like this again...

I have two more weeks here before going home for two weeks - only to come back for two more weeks of work in August. I have a distinct feeling I will be very fed up with my new-found and self-inflicted solitude and independence once this summer has gone...

The upside to this? I've got loads of time for reflection and to knit myself a pair of socks...

14 April 2010

Facebookers anonymous

I have a confession to make: I once vowed I would NEVER join Facebook, simply because it suddenly was all over and "everyone" was connected online. I kinda like being anonymous online...

And what have I done? I joined for the sole purpose of perhaps being one of ten movie ticket winners! I sold out too easily.
The thing is, I kinda like it. I get to see what my school mates are up to, even if we don't see eachother right now, and I have found a lot of my long lost high school friends. I haven't decided what to do with that knowledge yet though - do they even want to know what's happening in my life right now? Or is it the other way around, that we will once again feel that little bond, just because we know what's going on in eachother's lives? You know how it is, after graduation everyone says that they will never forget eachother and we must keep in touch, and here I am 18 years (!) later and haven't even tried remembering them at all. A lot of those old memories are better forgotten - will it all come back if we friend eachother? I'm not sure I want that, but it sure is interesting to see what became of them! One of my friends, who dreamt of being a clown when she grew up, is actually working on her masters in some technology-thing and I am seriously impressed. She doesn't look at all like I remembered her either (she's drop dead gorgeous now).

So, my question is: will it be like a permanent reunion, where everyone try to be the best they can to impress their old friends (one of my ex-boyfriends is on Facebook, and he is seriously working that bit) - or it will be more relaxed, like a fun garden party where there are no drunken mistakes and everyone is happy to see you?

01 February 2010

We're moving!

Yay! We've finally taken over the house and started moving our stuff. Bit by bit, book by book, we're rebuilding our lives...
Speaking of which, when visiting IKEA in Gothenburg (to get some bits and pieces for the house, you know) I learned a hard lesson: DO NOT keep your mobile in your front pocket if you want to keep it! I took H and myself to the bathroom, and as I pulled up my pants and pushed the flush-button (multitasking as usual) I heard H say "Mum your camera" and looked down only to see my mobile get flushed. And gone it was. I have to admit, I even put my hand down there to reach it, but it was irrevocably gone. (Yes, I did wash my hands several times after doing that.)

It was only 6 months old, but still not worth the "self payment" on the insurance, so I had to dish out today to get a new one. I actually bought one exactly like the one I flushed, but I also invested in a mobile phone pocket thingy to hang in my jeans so I won't put it in my pocket again. Oh the times I have looked at those, thinking I could make one better, only to never get it done. That cost me SEK 2499.

And now I have to wait for a new SIM card to put in the new mobile so I can make calls again - I have to borrow big S' mobile tomorrow so I have one in case I need it when I'm off on the icy snowy roads to Trollhattan. (Yes, we had another snow storm and I had two (2!) properties to shovel the stuff away from.)

So, if you learn nothing else from this blog or me, learn this: Mobile phones do not belong in the pockets of females - that's why we have purses.


18 April 2009

The aftermath...

So, Easter didn't turn out quite the way we planned (does anything ever?) - we DID go to my parents' and had a good time there, but H started complaining about her ear aching (which I immediately thought was an ear infection) and got pain killers every evening, which seemed to be enough - no pain at all during the day. I suspected her cold had gone to her sinuses, and the extra pressure felt like it hurt in her ear, so I didn't do anything about it.

No problems for a few days, but on Wednesday afternoon she looked like someone had hit her - her eyes were all red and puffy, and there was yellow goo coming out of them. Oh my goodness, I thought, not an eye infection! I hurried out of the house thursday morning so S had to stay at home with H (I was fully aware that they wouldn't accept her at daycare, but I didn't tell S that) and I could go to school that day. Home again, H was playing outside with S like nothing had happened, even though her eyes were still a bit red and puffy, they weren't as gooey anymore. Yesterday I didn't have school, so we stayed home, watching movies and sewing a little (started that bag I mentioned earlier), and H looked excellent. We planned for her to go with S to her grandmother's, so I could study today while they were away.

Then the evening came.
Friday evening and night is supposed to be all cozy and laidback, right? Nope - the moment we started talking about bed, H said her ear hurt again. Of course I thought "oh no, not an ear infection!" because H had been outside with just a cap on her head two days in a row, and I tried getting H to take a painkiller before going to bed. No such luck - S massaged her head so she went to sleep (what a great way to fall asleep, btw!). We started watching "Australia" and two hours later H wakes up, hysterically screaming that it hurt. Half an hour later, H had finally calmed down, now in S' bed but had refused to take any pain meds. The night actually went great from there on - we slept like babies next to eachother.

This morning, S had figured out what the problem was - H is having her 6-year molar... And as soon as he said it, we all knew that was it. When H knows why something hurts, she usually "thinks it away" and it doesn't bother her anymore. That doesn't apply for things she thinks will hurt, that she has never tried before, of course.

Ah, the blessed children! At least that meant she's now safe and sound at her grandma's, S is on a guitar show in Gothenburg and I have all day to study - ahem, that is, I COULD be studying, I'm at the sewing machine instead. That's a lot more fun! :D Thank goodness I have something to keep me from studying, I wonder what school would be like if I were to actually study the hours I'm supposed to?

09 April 2009

Happy easter!



It's easter, and I'll take little H with me to see my parents - it's been a while, and H has been haunting me ever since christmas that she wanted to go... At least I can take 4 days (almost) off without feeling guilty about school! (I'll only be taking one book with me, and I only mean to study about 30 pages - almost a vacation.)

other news: we've received offers on our house, there are two families bidding against eachother (which is good news for us) and we'll be getting a little more than we expected! Zippitydoodah!
We have NOT decided on what house to build yet, but we are studying plans like mad to decide soon - the sooner the better, as we really don't want to move around that much...

When I went to school on tuesday, one of my classmates LOVED my bag so much she wanted me to make her one just like it - and is willing to pay for it! So of course I had to stop by the fabric shop to get a little more lining material - I don't have enough of the one I used, plus I don't think she really noticed what it looked like inside. I will be sewing that the coming tuesday, I think - why bother with studying when there is crafting to be done? ;)

Lots of loving thoughts for Catherine - she's having her baby Jonah today!!!

05 April 2009

the lot has been chosen...

Yesterday we went to see our lot! And yes, it is in S' home town, in a newly planned area, so all the houses and gardens will be new ones; probably lots of kids for H to play with! They've even planned a playground next door down from our lot, and a hill for sledding down in winter...

This is what it looked like when H got to one corner of the lot, and I stayed at the other end. It's almost exactly the same square metres as the one we have today, but of course there's no house in the new lot yet, so it feels HUGE! (You probably want to go clicketyclick on the pic, or you stand no chance seeing H in it ;))


It was a beautiful sunny day, almost summery - H got to take off her jacket for just a few minutes when she was running... And of course, today she's got a cold and a fever - that's to be expected, isn't it? (It was NOT I who let her run without the jacket, it was her dad, who usually is SO protective of her...)

30 March 2009

365 things to do...

There's a swedish blog, where they post a new thing to do every day - and the other day they had this clip on the blog; what he says in the beginning is that it is part of their "invent your own warm-up routine" and that it's supposed to be done in a group :)

Gör som Beyonce och put a ring on it


It certainly put a smile on my busy lips! Good idea for the next happy dance, perhaps?

Oh and another news headline today: We've decided on where to build! We've chosen our lot, and now we just need to decide what house to build ;) The lot is called something like Butterflower 3 if I translate...

05 February 2009

Faster = auntie

I'm going to be an "auntie"! And this time, not by my own siblings, but by S' sister's oldest daughter (yeah, hm, that got kind of difficult)! Anyway, I'm soooo searching the ONS' for nice birth samplers, even though they baby's not due until August sometime (no, they haven't been to a US yet). Good ideas are very welcome; I made a search on Sew and So - 356 results... And I have quite a few magazines as well with patterns, but do you think that's enough? NOOOO - it has to be PERFECT!!!

Sidenote: why do all the girlie patterns get to be all cute, and the boy patterns are all "sailor, bugs and rough"? I might be biased here, as I've just held a lecture on health related to culture and gender in school, together with my group... I think I'll have to go with something none-gender specific, like Tatty Teddy, Humphrey's Corner or Newton's law...

Yay! I get to stitch cute and not have it live in my house! :)

16 November 2008

6 Random things about me

Angela tagged me to share 6 random things about me.

Here are the rules:

1. Link to the person who tagged you.
2. Post the rules on your blog.
3. Write six random things about yourself.
4. Tag six people at the end of your post.
5. Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
6. Let the tagger know your entry is up.


Ok, I'm giving it a go:
1. I've actually been tagged on a similar question before, and I didn't post. No idea why, it kind of slipped my mind, I guess.

2. I'm lactose sensitive - I think, or am I having IBS? I don't want to have IBS, so I tell everyone I can't handle lactose. So far it's been working good...

3. I'm a serial craft starter. The only craft I've actually picked up on a regular basis, is cross-stitching. That's probably why my shelves are crammed with xs-stuff, and a few bits and pieces here and there of other crafts: knitting, papercrafting (mostly cards, I can't get the scrapbooking thing going), jewellery making (beads everywhere...), PENS for all kinds of writing, and then there's the growing pile of fabrics, sewing thread and zippers...

4. I'm a procrastinator. Have I said this before? It sounds familiar somehow... Anyway, I always do the fun things first to try and convince myself I don't have to do the boring stuff, which of course is a blatant lie and it never works, so I always end up doing the boring stuff when I'm almost out of time.

5. All of my socks have some kind of pattern or special colour - it's a lot easier to sort them after washing that way. :) I hate it when I try sorting hubby's socks - they're all black, same patterns and same make - there's always one missing! I never have that problem with my own socks, so I use the same system when I buy socks for H. Only her socks are a lot happier than mine, with butterflies, birds, flowers and lots of different colours.

6. I have a normal blood pressure. I've always thought my pressure was low, but now when we've been learning how to measure it, I've discovered that my blood pressure is excellent. At least in my arms it is, noone's tested my hands or feet - they're bl**dy cold all the time. I don't think there's much cirkulation in the "ends"... Jumping Jacks usually do the trick when I get too cold, though!


I hope you've learned something you didn't know about me - now, who to tag? I have absolutely no idea, especially since I read so completely different blogs (has to do with #3 above)- and never make any comments... So, if you happen to pass by, and haven't already posted one of these, .... TAG!

27 October 2008

The home stretch

So, this is what the last week before the course examination feels like... The examination is this Friday, and we have no idea how it will look - what kinds of questions, how deep a knowledge we should have, etc. The thing is, we are the first ones to take THIS course - it used to be divided into two courses, with a home assignment as the final examination. Now they've decided to make it one course, with a written examination on campus. On all other examinations it's easy enough to get a grip of what you're supposed to know, as the previous examination tests are in a searchable database. Needless to say, I'm pretty freaked out. I think I would be seriously depressed if I had the time...

The next course is Anatomy and Physiology, which I kind of look forward to - at least it's a tangible subject, with correct and wrong answers! We met the teachers the other day, and they were really looking forward to seeing us in class - we felt WANTED, and that's always a good thing.

Gotta go - we have a final presentation to make today on the past, present and future of nursing science. I'm supposed to talk about the future - since when am I a psychic???? This course is seriously fuzzy...

14 October 2008

Bad blogger, need sp*nking...

I know I know - I've neglected my blog. But I have updated the look, see? I've been so completely swallowed by the big hairy monster called school, I almost haven't seen my own blog either... I have tried to go visiting other blogs I like to read, to be updated, but I cannot guarantee that I have commented...

So, what's happened in my life these past 4 weeks? Well, I've started actively thinking about what I eat, how much and when. When I was at my first WIL-week (see previous post) I weighed in, and not owning anything resembling scales for people myself, I had to wait until last week when I got back at WIL again before I could see if it actually had made a difference. Yes, I can slightly feel it in my pants (them being more roomy and all) but it's still fun to see the numbers on the scales! I lost a grand total of 1.5 kilos... Yay! At least it's something, I was afraid nothing would've happened - that would really have discouraged me I fear... Physicians say the best rate of losing weight is about 0.5 kilos a week, and as I average just below that, I am happy. *small happy dance* Now I take that as a positive lesson, and move forward - it's six weeks until the next time I'm on WIL, so I'm hoping this weight loss will keep on in the same rate. If so, I'll reach my goal weight before next summer. Long term goals are good for you, right?

Other than that, I have been reading and thinking and am slowly turning into an academic thinker. Finally, I'm starting to understand the special language spoken in higher education... I've also been thinking about christmas presents, so they will eventually turn up here - noone in my family knows about my blog (at least I think they don't???) so it's safe to spill the beans here ;)

We haven't completely stopped looking at new houses, we just had a very long break... Now a few interesting ones are popping up - some people desperately want to move before christmas, and most people don't want to move around christmas because they want it to be nice and settled and organized, so that means houses from the end of october are cheaper to buy here. Plus it might have something to do with the current financial situation (yep, we feel it here as well when the US are in a bad shape)... Judging by the way we've done things so far, we could be done in a week's time when/if we decide to move anyway, so christmas isn't the big issue here. Daycare, school and work are! I have no idea what the daycare situation is like in that area (other side of town), and that is a serious main priority. Driving for half an hour in the WRONG direction isn't what I plan to do for months...

Talking about christmas - I had a phone call today from our cantor, asking me if I would like to sing with a big band at a concert 2nd sunday of advent... Yes of course!!! I'd love to, even if it is right in the middle of probably some of the toughest courses in school - anatomy and physiology is next... This is a chance I just cannot turn down, I hope they go for it... I haven't had the confirmation yet (duh) that it will actually happen, but it would be so much fun - I've written it on my calendar already :)

Gotta go, it's getting late and I want to have a little quality time (read: snuggle on the couch) with hubby before bedtime!
Until next time, may the winds be always favourable and the stash plenty!

16 September 2008

Stop scaring me!

My hubby (S) has always had a bad spine - two of his vertebrae don't stay put, so he regularly needs to go to a chiropractor to get them back in their place. Naturally, these vertebrae are connected to several nerves, and when these nerves get pinched, he has difficulty breathing and his chest hurts. Usually he recognizes these symptoms for what they are, and goes to his chiropractor to get it fixed.

Yesterday however, he woke up in the middle of the night and his left arm was numb. Sensory loss in the left arm, chest pains, difficulty breathing - does that ring a bell to anyone? ... Even more so when he called our local health care center, and they told him to go to the ER. He ran out of the house, with tears down his cheeks, and drove there himself! It's not far, but I still didn't feel that was a good idea - driving with a possible heart attack???

Anyways, I got H to daycare and drove after him to the ER. He was so small, in a hospital bed with the required gown, and soooooo cold. He didn't want me there, because (and NOW he chose to tell me) he just thought it was his vertebrae acting up again. I went to school, and he didn't come home from hospital until late in the afternoon - they had to make sure with every test possible that it wasn't a heart attack. So, the good thing is he's been thoroughly checked with all kinds of tests and weird cameras. But it sure was scary...

28 August 2008

The ABC's of me!

I apparently got tagged by Angela to do this, and as I still haven't answered the 7 weird facts one, I feel like I HAVE TO answer this one...


A - Available or single?:
Neither, I'm living with my fiancé S(and our daughter)

B - Best Friend?:
S! Hoping to make some more now, though...

C - Cake or pie?:
Chokolate cake

D - Drink of choice?:
Water

E - Essential item I use every day:
Anti-wrinkle eye cream - if I don't, I get really sore red stripes in the corners of my eyes.

F - Favorite color?:
red

G - Gummy Bears or Gummy Worms?:
Haribo Gummy Bears

H - Hometown?:
Tönsberg, Norway

I - Indulgence?:
It used to be chocolate ice cream, but I can't seem to find GOOD lactose-free ice cream, so I'll have to settle for a really nice dark chocolate instead.

J - January or February?:
January - I have to see the coldest of winter to really appreciate the spring!

K - Kids and names?:
One, Hannah.

L- Late or early?:
Late - although I have learned that most people don't appreciate it, so I always add 10 extra minutes for unexpectedness and thus end up being early.

M - Marriage date?:
Nope, engagement date 26th of March 1998.

N - Number of siblings?:
One sister and one brother, and one half-brother that I have never met.

O - Oranges or apples:
Oranges

P - Phobias or fears?:
Not really - I don't like spiders, but I can get them out of the house myself if I have to. (I get hubby to do it when he's at home, so he can feel useful! :D)

Q - Favorite quote:
Found a new one yesterday: "There is no cure without care!" - Florence Nightingale?

R - Reasons to smile:
My daughter, the first butterfly and kicking yellow/red/orange leaves.

S - Season:
Definitely the "tween" ones - spring and fall. If I HAVE to choose, fall.

T - Tag 3 or 4 people:
I have no idea - Catherine, do you feel the calling? Anyone else reading this, I guess you can consider yourselves tagged!

U - Unknown fact about me:
I suck at house-keeping. Technically I can do it, but since I can't stand it I usually let hubby do it (he actually enjoys it!) Not fair, I know, but see W for more info...

V - Vegetable you don’t like:
Artichokes. Can't stand them for some reason - and yes I have tried both as a kid and as an adult. Won't do it again.

W - Worst habit:
Procrastinating. Right now I'm trying to think of something to do that doesn't involve doing the heavy studying I need to do today ;)

X - X-Rays?:
Dental, upper arm, and pelvis (fell off a horse once...).

Y - Your favorite food?:
"Pommes au gratin" with a nice peace of red meat and MIL's sallad mix.

Z - Zodiac sign?:
Aries.
Chinese: Rabbit with a bit of fire!

26 August 2008

School's in!

First day of school went rather well - lots of information, 119 new classmates, new building... We've been divided into two large groups which in turn is divided into 10 "base groups", so I will probably not get to know all of them... We'll be presenting the others in the base group to the other students today, so we've already started getting to know eachother a little. The day ended in a blinding headache, so I was very happy H is staying at her grandma's.

I'm going to get her today after school, but I can't say I look forward to it - she's not well (we can't find out if it is a prolonged cold or if it is allergies), and I can't afford not going to school... I'll be losing too much information if I do. Got to talk to hubby about that - who's daytime occupation is the most important?

Why is it that the mother is always expected to take sole responsibility for the kids? I think we have a very equal relationship on all other levels, but somehow HIS job turned out to be more important than mine. And it seems as though it will continue now when I've started studying as well - it naturally ends up being my job to stay at home when H is sick, if he has to do it - he calls his mother... Don't get me wrong, my MIL is a fantastic woman, and I have no problem whatsoever with H being with her, but we shouldn't take advantage of her either! If they lived next door it wouldn't be a problem, but now MIL lives almost an hour away, and she doesn't have a car nor a drivers licence. FIL is at work every day (even though he technically is retired), so that's no option. My parents have a 4-hour drive here, so we don't have anyone else.

It's at times like these I wish we had bought a house close to either family instead of choosing to go halfway each... But we both needed the space to our families at the time, so here we are, with both feet stuck in the middle of a huge puddle of quick-dry glue...

18 August 2008

My baby...

is no longer a baby... We went to IKEA on saturday and bought her a "real" desk chair to sit in by her desk. So now she is no longer my little baby on a baby chair, she's on a proper desk chair with wheels and all! I just have to put up a pic of her here, with her legs crossed <3


I've been very busy these last weeks, preparing for school of course includes making myself a new school tote/bag/purse to carry my essentials in. I still haven't decided wether I'll be needing to take the laptop with me to school, so I made a tote/bag that is big enough to fit the laptop as well if necessary. Not the best pics - I didn't give myself the time to crop and such, so they're straight off the camera.

Empty of course it looks like a pile of fabric... It's not easy to see, but I actually managed to make a hidden zipper pocket at the front, just where the two fabrics meet. Very proud of that one, it took a LOT of pondering to get it right. It didn't turn out as I planned, but it is hidden and can take lots of stuff without anyone noticing.

With all my props in it! :) The bottle with LOKA on top is an empty water bottle if anyone is wondering - gotta have water close by! There's still plenty of room, so I can easily fit two or three text books in it as well in case I decide NOT to take the laptop + the fabric is really sturdy (IKEA ...) so it can easily carry all that weight. (Of course I had to buy more of the same fabric saturday, same weight, different print. ;) )


I also made myself a pencil case to keep all my pens in one place - yep, I'm a pen collector... I can't go past the pen shelves in the book store without buying at least one! So, I have LOTS of nice pens in my hidden stash...

I've been stitching for an exchange over at EMS as well, but of course I won't show my finished product until I've heard from the other side of the globe that it has actually arrived there. :)

Today I plan on taking it easy, it's first day at daycare for Hannah today, so I'm all alone with time only for myself (and blogging, of course). It's good to get a week "alone" before school starts, to get myself organized and prepared as far as I can. On Thursday I'll be going to campus to get entrance cards and library cards and a little information; it'll be a full day at campus for the first time!

Have a great day!

16 July 2008

Never say never

Here I was, thinking that we would now only buy the really necessary items, I've even planned on how to survive on a minimal stash-budget - and then we decide to buy a car. Yep, my car-free days were very few, and I will in the end of next week be the proud owner of an almost brand new hot red Peugeot 207 SW (that's station wagon with a glass ceiling for those who don't know).

We got a fabulous deal on it, seeing as hubby now works for said car brand, and it is a demo - it's only been out and about for 3000 kms, so it still smells new :)No fancy stuff, just plain car to get out and about in. Reasonable in fuel usage, ok engine capacities, ok seats and most importantly we can have Hannah in the backseat and still have two grownups in the front without squishing anyone! The plan is to only use it a couple of days a week, when I need to go shopping for groceries on the way home, and otherwise take the bus to school. That way we save a lot of fuel expenses, at the same time I can take Hannah with me and go swimming on a saturday if we want to. We'll be taking it to Norway next week, even though it technically won't be mine until the end of next week... I must say, I like hubby's new boss <3

Being on vacation has so far been very quiet - Hannah got a hair cut, we're baking bread, and tomorrow Hannah will be going to her grandma's for a couple of days while I attend such boring stuff as a meeting at the local unemployment office and a meeting at my new school. The weather hasn't exactly been summery, so no bathing outdoors - H is in the tub right now :D Gotta have some water when she can! I swear she would've been a mermaid if it weren't for her parentage...

11 July 2008

Last day of an era

So the final day is here. It feels good, I only have some cardboard boxes of old papers to throw out and some personal stuff to carry out to the car left to do here. And of course eat cake, but that's purely recreational! :)

We went out for lunch and just made it back before the rain started, so all in all my stomach feels good about this. Too bad I'm taking the bus home though, I have sandals and stuff to carry in addition to the umbrella... Exported all my personal files and contacts to USB-sticks, so there is now nothing left except to turn the voice-mail on and close the door.

I have been accepted to the school, so that's final at last. Even though I counted on it, it still feels differently when I have seen it black on white on my computer screen. It feels like I have landed somehow...

That's it for now, I think I will have a bit of a summer holiday!