Showing posts with label building a house. Show all posts
Showing posts with label building a house. Show all posts

25 March 2010

Alas, I've let my blog slide

It's been too long this time - but as always, I have a great excuse. Being out in the real world, meeting real patients, really did get the best of me. But now I'm back again for a quick visit, before heading out to a psych ward for 3 weeks!

The huge amounts of snow around the house have disappeared - there is a little left, but not enough to cover the complete mess the builders left behind them. We've already spent several hours picking up nails and screws - about 6 litres so far - and there's still the snuff boxes, the bits of board everywhere, pieces of scaffolding, left over roofing tiles, plastic covers and the occasional tool knife to pick up and dispose of. Granted, there were several days of blizzards when the builders were here, so lots of this stuff was very quickly buried in snow if they didn't pick it up immediately. I'm thinking of making a warning sign: "Do not walk on the dirt - it might contain pointy stuff!"

Inside - we're almost done. Big S and his dad will be hammering all of Easter week to create a floor on the attic, and then there's a shelving thing to put shoes at the back entrance to be built. My office is complete - floss, shelves and all - and I've even managed to clutter it up a bit already. It looks great! :D

I loved almost every second of working at the hospital these 7 weeks - the only thing I wasn't too fond of, were the calici virus. It's a feisty stomach bug, once one patient had it, it took just a few hours before everyone had it. Thank G we didn't have any patients who needed critical care! Most of our patients were on top of it, even if the calici left them a lot weaker than before. Apparently, this was some new strain, because I usually don't get affected, but this time I was down and out for 5 whole days. I was so weak I could only drink blueberry soup and watch daytime tv in between my naps, but on the 5th day I woke up hungry and fit as a fiddle again. Weird...

Today is waffle day here in Sweden, and tomorrow's my birthday, so I'm having two friends over for lunch and cake before picking up H from school. I have to get her by car even now when we live so close to school, because ALL of her clothes are usually wet in the afternoon - I can't carry it all... How I long for all the snow to be gone and to have dry weather!

All my love,

21 February 2010

Moved and snowed in

So we finally made the move. On Valentine's Day of all days of the year. So much for romance and candle lit dinners...

But it was a good move - I got to go to a party! H was invited to her friend's birthday party, which accidentally took place on the 14th of February, from 14 to 16 in the afternoon - so we got to stay out of the way while the rest of the bunch moved the last stuff and big S was so geared up he was angry for having to stop to eat. When H and I came back home, it was time for supper, H's room was all ready to sleep in, and the kitchen was all set up. Not much for me to do... ;)

We - or should I say S? - have spent every waking moment sorting stuff into their appropriate spot since then, and I must say it's looking quite like a home now. We've even got a new sofa! Of course it helped that we were snowed in for two days, and I have been forced to stay at home fixing stuff instead of being at WBP (Work-based Practice) and seeing sick people all day.

It started snowing Friday morning, but that wasn't too much, so I took H to the "water palace" (direct translation) to see if she could swim (she could! - with a life pad on her back...) and we made it back home as well. But in the evening the real snowing started.

The snow just kept falling, and the wind made sure to blow the snow to the front of our house and all over our little road - so much so, that I had the snowball's chance in H*** of getting the car those 100 metres to the big road and off to Town to "work". I had no choice but to call in. And noone came to clear our road either - Sunday morning my MIL got FIL to take her to "plowers central" here, and asked them if they were aware that we were snowed in. They had no idea they were supposed to plow our road!!! Come on people, we're actually right next to the main road into town, how can you not see us??? At last a guy came over, in the biggest plower I've ever seen - and he needed it. Just to get our 100 metres done took him 20 minutes! It sure felt good to get in the car and go grocery shopping, knowing I would be able to get back home as well... Yeah, the snowing and the wind blowing stopped by lunch-time, giving us a glorious sunshine and freezing cold. And lots of HUGE piles of snow for H to play in.


Our hero of the day!


Our house in all it's glory - please excuse the trash bin, it had only been delivered a few minutes earlier - and I honestly don't know where to put it yet.
Lots of love,

01 February 2010

We're moving!

Yay! We've finally taken over the house and started moving our stuff. Bit by bit, book by book, we're rebuilding our lives...
Speaking of which, when visiting IKEA in Gothenburg (to get some bits and pieces for the house, you know) I learned a hard lesson: DO NOT keep your mobile in your front pocket if you want to keep it! I took H and myself to the bathroom, and as I pulled up my pants and pushed the flush-button (multitasking as usual) I heard H say "Mum your camera" and looked down only to see my mobile get flushed. And gone it was. I have to admit, I even put my hand down there to reach it, but it was irrevocably gone. (Yes, I did wash my hands several times after doing that.)

It was only 6 months old, but still not worth the "self payment" on the insurance, so I had to dish out today to get a new one. I actually bought one exactly like the one I flushed, but I also invested in a mobile phone pocket thingy to hang in my jeans so I won't put it in my pocket again. Oh the times I have looked at those, thinking I could make one better, only to never get it done. That cost me SEK 2499.

And now I have to wait for a new SIM card to put in the new mobile so I can make calls again - I have to borrow big S' mobile tomorrow so I have one in case I need it when I'm off on the icy snowy roads to Trollhattan. (Yes, we had another snow storm and I had two (2!) properties to shovel the stuff away from.)

So, if you learn nothing else from this blog or me, learn this: Mobile phones do not belong in the pockets of females - that's why we have purses.


20 January 2010

Once again I have survived an exam and apparently come out of it alive - we were tested on acute and long term disorders and complications between the lungs and the knees, with the addition of anything to do with nerves this saturday. Quite the span, don't you think? This time I think it went OK - TG for that!

New term, new class - as of tomorrow I will once again be "out there" and trying not to harm people - and this time I will be in a hospital for seven (yes, 7!) weeks. I've been assigned to a department that works mainly with bowel diseases and syndroms, so I have NO IDEA what kind of sick people (har har - ill should be the right word, right?) I will be trying to keep alive.

At least I now, as of yesterday, know that at least I know how to administer infusions and drugs - I had a practical exam on that, which actually went great - despite the fact that I was nauxious, dizzy and my hands were trembling because I was so nervous. Somehow it all went away when I started working my way through it all, and I even managed to keep everything clean as well as calculating at what rate the infusion should be given. I have no idea what happened, but apparently I am rather good at this stuff...

I've been knitting like crazy to keep the worrybugs out of my head, but with days being short and dark here, I haven't had the chance to get any good pics of it all. I will be knitting some more (had to get me some yarn once I got into the local yarn shop and fondled the stuff some), but I haven't quite decided what yet. Another hat, maybe?

The house is supposedly done next friday, but neither of us really believe it until we see it... We haven't even started packing yet, even though MIL has started collecting boxes for us to pack in - we've just placed them in the shed and tried to avoid the thought. At least we've ordered the new sofa, a new coffee table, a new dining table and chairs, so we'll have plenty of furniture; noone's been interested in buying the old furniture yet, despite our ads in the local paper. I guess we'll end up donating it to the local Red Cross or something? Oh well, we have all of february to move and clean houses, so we'll get there in due time!

Now I've got some yarn to fondle - lots of love!

06 January 2010

A new year and a new house

A belated Happy New Year! is in order, and an update on life, stitching and everything!
As for life and everything, the house is coming along. I've been inside, the heat is on, but there's no electric wiring done so not much to see so far. On the outside, we are still waiting on the roof tiles to be laid out, but according to the builders that will probably be started tomorrow. I have a pic, from the garden side, from before Christmas Eve - so imagine about 30 cms more snow everywhere and you've got a good picture of what it looks like. There's no ugly blue plastic either now...


Ah yes, snow - it's been snowing since the day they lifted the house onto the ground, it's been freezing cold (-18 deg C) and it seems the street workers here have taken the year off, because the road is at least 5 cms higher up than usual with several dents to make driving in our community very much like going on a kidney-shaker amusement park. At least we get a real-life test of the suspension on the car!

Christmas was good, nice and relaxed. I took H with me to Norway for a couple of days, where we got to spend time with my entire immediate family there - my sis, her sons, my brother and his kids, and of course my parents. It was great being there, but as all fab holidays, it was great coming back home again as well - and with lots of pics to scrap :)

It was not so great coming back to reality and school again, but there you have it. Life has it's ups and downs, or there wouldn't be so many of us around. School kinda sucks right now - I've got no motivation whatsoever, the course is so hard neither of us know which foot to stand on, and I've got an exam coming up again. One of my classmates kids told her they wanted her to stop studying, because she's never available for anything, always buried in her schoolwork... I've got a feeling the same goes for my family, but they haven't actually said it in so many words.

As for stitching, I've started on LHN's Needle Necessities (Jan 1st, actually) and decided I'll let Santa sleep for a while. He just doesn't call to me right now - he might call again in a month or so, but for now he'll be a UFO.

I have to get back to the books again - but I've made myself the promise I'll stop doing things "later" so we'll see when I post again. It's actually a lot easier to come clean and say that I won't be doing stuff, instead of saying I'll do it later. Later has a tendency to never arrive in my house....

Lots of love!

25 December 2009

A jolly good time

I wish you all are having a fantastic Christmas - or whatever you do instead this time of year!

We have, as traditionally in the Nordic countries, already celebrated the birth of Christ, as the 24th is the Day here. We had a nice day with S' parents at their house - lunch, coffee and dinner, with presents spread out a little here and a little there. It's hard work trying to tell a 6-year old that she has to wait for her presents, when they are all there in the open, easily readable for everyone. So we don't. I have horrible memories of my parents at Christmas, telling us kids that the presents were to be opened AFTER dinner, which was always served at 5 in the afternoon. And of course my dad made a point out of eating so slowly that 10 ants would've finished his plate faster than he did. My brother finally had his revenge one year, eating as slowly as he could and so much that he couldn't open his own presents until a couple of hours later than the rest of us - he had to lie down for a while first. But my dad didn't win our own version of a food-fight that Christmas Eve! :) I love you, J!

Tomorrow I'll be going to my folks in Norway with H. We'll be eating, enjoying each others company and I'll be studying. I really do hate the fact that we students don't even get Christmas off, we have big assignments coming up right after New Year's... And then there's the next exam on the 16th of January, which our teachers kindly enough e-mailed us about on the 23rd, saying "Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year - remember that EVERYTHING from ALL course litterature will be included on the next exam." What a nice Christmas greeting... NOT!
I will never the less try to have a great time with my folks, and enjoy some off time with H - we don't have much of that around here, as there always seems to be something we HAVE to do.

On a side note, there is now a house on our lot. No roofing, but with all the snow we've got these past 3 days that doesn't show - it looks like a proper house, garage and all. It's the wrong colour and only a Tyvek sheet stop the wet from coming through the roof, but that is a worry I will deal with on Monday. The workers won't be back until then anyway.


17 December 2009

Lots of updating to do...

First of all, our house has now been placed on the lot! As of today, there is something rather big, in lots of blue plastic, on our lot. There is a door, but that is all that can make someone guess it's supposed to be a house. No roof either. Apparently, it was too windy and cold to "undress" the house, so instead the builders covered it up a little extra and will be back on Monday. Well, at least there is a chance we'll actually end up with a house in the end... Pics to come when there is something to get a pic of, and not just a big blue box!

My last exam went down the drain. I got there, got all the medicine parts without much trouble, and then I got to the nursing part - and that's where it got tricky. This one teacher apparently thinks giving us hints to what we should read is cheating - so instead of actually having her lectures about what we should know (both for the exam and for Later Real Life), she gave two lectures and told us nothing. When we tried to ask what she thought was the highlights (aka what to read), she answered that she could not specify! The questions on the exam (that she'd written) had absolutely nothing to do with what she had lectured about, so an amazing number of us students left that exam feeling tricked. We've complained to the other teachers, but the teacher team doesn't want to talk to her about it, because she's a PhD and they aren't. We'll have to take it up with the Dean. Lots of worried students here...

Gotta go, I've got boxing class!




02 December 2009

Digging and filling a hole in the ground

So, it looks like it will be a house after all - I can even imagine little H running on the lawn at the back of the house... We went by the lot yesterday, because the diggers weren't sure how big the patio at the back of the house should be and wanted me to tell them. I made them make it bigger ;)

The big hole in the dirt made a few days ago has now been filled, and tomorrow they will be placing the base construction for the house on top of all the gravel and sand. It'd better not be raining, because the base doesn't tolerate the wet stuff before it's set. If it's not raining, I'll swing by on Friday to get a pic before the actual house is placed on top of the base - on Wednesday! Less than one week from now, there will be a house on our lot!
Of course, H couldn't stand still when there was ice on puddles to be smashed ;) And yes, that is how H looks when she's at school; I'd just picked her up.

On other matters, I now have a 6-year-old in the house. Little H has gained another year to her resume, and I've lost my 5 year old girlie girl. She's still very girlie, but now she wants to add the "cool" ingredient as well - black is a very wanted colour, as it seems, preferably paired with purple... All the parties went well - H celebrated with S's side of the family on Friday (The Day), she had a friend who also turned six last week, so she went to her party Saturday morning (10-12) and then had her own party with the friends from kindergarten in the afternoon (14-18). She went out like a light when she went to bed that night. Then my parents came on Sunday, and there was much fussing and hugging going on all afternoon and into the evening. Mum read H a story, and then the light was out again. I don't think a weekend has passed this fast since we moved house the last time!

I am now studying for yet another exam, this time in medicine, and more specifically pulmonary and circulatory diseases. We'll start with bowels, bones and such next week. Lazy old me probably wouldn't have begun these studies if I'd known just how MUCH studying I'd have to do, but I gather it's too late to stop now, that would just be plain silly... Lots of love!


01 December 2009

They've broken ground!

The builders have actually started working! They have broken ground, and it's actually possible to see kinda how the house will be placed on the lot, how big it is and what our garden will be like - if you use A LOT of imagination, that is. Tomorrow I'll show you a couple of pics, tonight it's too dark out to get any good ones ;)

Lots of love,


18 November 2009

Huge mortgage coming up...

Things have finally started to happen to our new house; today I made the call to the bank so our bank-person, Karin, could issue the papers to the builders so they can feel assured that we are for real. We are talking big bucks here, our mortgage will be at a hefty 2,4 million SEK - that's a LOT for this area, but at least we'll get a brand spanking new house, exactly the way we want it, and we don't have to do anything to it for at least 10 years. Unless we really want to, of course, but that would be purely recreational, not necessary in any way. Although I can actually see us putting up new wallpaper here and there before then, but I digress.

On Friday I will be quite busy - originally I'd planned on attending a lecture on pain and care of it, but now I'll be staying at home in the morning. Why, you may wonder? Well, we have a meeting with the planning committee, so that we can actually build the house the way we plan to. We don't actually have the permits necessary to start digging on the plot, we haven't actually bought the plot yet either, and even though it's just a formality at this stage, it feels a bit strange that our house will be delivered to the plot in less than a month and we have... nothing. According to the "plot office" (I have no idea what that would be in English) everything happens automatically once we've been to the planning meeting, so I'm betting all my money on that.
Right before that meeting, I'll pick up the paperwork from the bank, and afterwards it's back home, quick change of clothes, get in the car, pick up T at home, and then we're off to see New Moon and do some shopping! As it turns out, we're not actually going to the premiere, because that would be at midnight/Friday morning, but I'm excited none the less! T & I will be taking a small shopping round, I plan on getting little H new ballet shoes, and then we'll meet up with the others for dinner out before going to the movie.

The way I blabber about it, it sound like I haven't been out for years - and I haven't. Sad, huh? Oh well, I plan to make up for it eventually, it hasn't exactly been my first priority the last 10 years...
Gotta go read about hypertension and stroke care now, lots of love!


12 November 2009

Late greetings

I had planned this great post to celebrate my blogoversary: What my blog means to me, what blogland and everyone inhabiting it means to me and so on - and then I completely forgot all about it. I'd even planned on writing the post early this week and scheduling it because i KNEW I wouldn't have the time to post on the day, and what happened? The procrastinating ghost and the green-eyed stress monster ganged up on me and nothing got posted.

I'd like to thank Teena in Toronto for popping by and congratulating me anyway, thus reminding me what terrible monsters inhabit my territory here in blogland.

Instead of writing that perfect post which would bring lots of people by my blog for a party, I spent Monday making some small stuff for Barbies, Tuesday making two penny-pouches and Wednesday watching people getting blue/red/purple (depending on difficulty) in their faces trying to test their lung capacity - Wednesday evening our house seller came by, and we finally agreed on the price for the foundations and the preparations for our patio and parking space in front of the new house. Yay! A few drawings to be shipped off to the building council and the builders can actually get some work done on our land!

As of today, the only thing that has happened to our plot since this is that the local farmer has harvested his oatmeal and left 5 cms of the stems on the plot, and a sign has come up saying there's a house to be built there. Not much to see - I'll post a pic when they start digging.

Today I've been poking needles in people all day, and I am very happy to report that the nurses at my practice are now using gloves and are a lot more aware of the fact that they need to worry a bit more about the hygiene side of things. Seems my little pointer to their boss upon leaving (I had an inquiry form to fill out then, and I simply stated that it didn't look too good) the last time made them address the issue.
Tomorrow - I don't know. Probably some more needle-poking, vaccines, some wounds to clean, and it will be my last day at that health care center. I sure have learnt some, and I'm quite sad to think I will never be working with them again - they've been great. I fully intend on getting my own vaccine for the swine flu (A (H1N1)) before leaving, but that depends on wether they have any spare doses in the afternoon before we go home - once prepared, the bottle only keeps for 24 hours.

Until next time, lots of love


20 October 2009

Yeah. so?

We've been getting really strange messages on how our house is coming along - all of a sudden we received a letter from the head office that our house would be ready for us Jan 29 - when we thought the latest 6 week delay would be enough... So, now it looks as if we'll be staying at a hotel for two months, as we said we didn't want the house we're renting longer than dec. 31st. The house seller says he's sorry, but he can't do anything, as the head office calls the shots here. Yeah, so? Do we care about that? NO, we want our house this year, as promised!!!

Needless to say, big S, who usually is the worry-wart in this household, is falling to pieces, I try to behave my best but still we get into these nonsense fights that basically happen because I think we can be a teensy bit diplomatic when we talk to the seller, because it's not his fault. And bring out the big guns when we talk to the head office. Big S thinks we should bring out the cannons from the closet, and perhaps a few bombs too, so the factory will build our house faster. Like that's helping...

At least we both acknowledge the fact that we're not really angry at eachother for this, even though I did break a plate yesterday because he wouldn't listen to me when I didn't say anything... Makes sense, no? Break a plate, get everyone's attention. It was the first time I tried that, actually, and the plate was not a favourite of mine, but then I had to clean the mess myself - so I know that's not something I'm going to do much in the future.

So, in Sweden we're a bit frustrated AND I have a serious calculus exam on monday - how to calculate medications; you know, pills, solutions, Oxygen, International Units to ml, that sort of thing. And on this exam you have to have a 100% score, or do it over and over until you understand and can be let loose on the actual patients of this world. Usually, only 20% of the nursing students get it on the first exam, so I'd be in good company if I mess up. Which I probably will, by going to fast and not reading the questions properly, and thus giving a completely different answer than intended. Wish me luck!




15 September 2009

Update on the new house

I went to see the "house guy" today - we've been waiting for an update on how our new house is doing. And, I'm sorry to say, it's not doing so great.
Apparently, implementing a new drawing software has surprised them by taking longer than expected (when has EVER implementing new software been on schedule???) so our house is now delayed by 5 weeks. That means we'll barely be moved in by Christmas - imagine a Christmas in boxes!!! And that's if it all goes according to plan from now on!!!

I expect more bad stuff to happen, but according to our house guy, we'd be able to store our stuff in, say, the living room, and they'd pay for us to stay at a hotel. Like that's what we wanted when we said we wanted our house the first week of november - we wanted plenty of time to move everything slowly but surely, and now it looks like another panic move. I'm not happy now.


By the sewing machine to keep all trouble away,




24 July 2009

No internet connection...

...means I'm suffering from severe withdrawal!!! I can't believe it's been this long without an update, and we still don't have an internet connection at home, so I had to go to the public library to get some satisfaction ;)

The move went well - I did the best I could, staying away from S and his family of movers extraordinaire, and it all got moved. But I'll tell you this: NEVER ever move to a SMALLER house without being prepared to throw away a lot of stuff!!! The rental is a LOT smaller, mostly due to the fact that we only have a shed (kind of) to store stuff in, and there is no storage space in the house. We moved from a huge garage, an fantastic attic AND a guest house into a 2-bedroom house without any of the aforementioned storage facilities. We had to throw out lots of stuff that first week, just so we could get our bikes in the shed... 6 full carloads of stuff, to be specific.

Good thing is, without storage space S decided I could unpack all of my crafty stash, so that's readily available whenever I get the mojo working again. Right now, I'm busy with work (night shift) and getting some sort of vacation together with my family. I'll be going to London next weekend with S, just to see Martina McBride in concert - I think it's the most expensive concert I've ever been to... Not the concert in itself, but with travels and hotel it adds up to about SEK 12.000:- I don't think we'll be doing THAT anytime soon again!

H and S have been exploring all the playgrounds in the area, and the one next to our new house is a really good one, albeit very difficult for smaller children. There's a good climb to get to the slide, so H needs help EVERY time to get up there. I feel sorry for the little 'uns who don't get to slide, there's only swings and sand for them.

Now I have some reading online to do - but I'll try to keep the blog a little more updated, now that I've discovered how the public computers in the library work! :)

Lots of love,
Anne

02 July 2009

Moving!

Time sure does fly when there's a lot to be done... We've been packing, packing and packing - the truck leaves on saturday morning! Today I'll be packing most of the kitchen utensils, except the really necessary ones of course - three plates, cutlery, a frying pan and something to cook stuff in, and it goes without saying that the coffee maker will be the last thing we pack. Can't have help without coffee to keep them going! The windows are mostly empty; we threw out some of our old plants yesterday, and the curtains are washed and hung, ready for my MIL to iron and hang in the new house (gotta keep her busy as well).

The main plan will be to transport H's room and her toys on the first load, and then H and MIL can stay at the rental to set up H's new room while the rest of us go back here and pick up another load. Unload, lunch, get in the truck again and pick up (hopefully) the last load. We'll put most of the banana cartons (yep, that's what we're packing up all our stuff in - that's a LOT of banana cartons!) in the storage and in the attic, and then we'll take our time unpacking only the most necessary stuff. After all, we'll be moving again before Christmas, so there's no use unpacking everything.

We have had some time to do fun stuff too, H and I - we've been to the beach a few times with my new friends from school (T and L - they both have kids about the same age as H), and H is loving it. I've even immersed myself in the wet stuff at the beach! It's actually kinda hot here - 30 deg. Celcius is high temps for Sweden, and we've been having it for a week now. I actually look like I've been outside, instead of my more normal "white as a sheet"-appearance. (Usually I take great comfort in what my mum (the nutty brown summer one) keeps saying: "White man should be white.")

I've had some time left in the evenings to do some finishing as well, but of course I've now packed my camera cord somewhere, so I can't upload any pics to the computer...

When we were at my parents' for a week, I had a morning in town all by myself - and of course I found myself a crafters shop - Lines hobby - with the most dreamy of all sewing rooms. About 40 m2 of fabrics, patterns, bags, books and everything associated with fiber crafts, with samples and all. I found a Rosalie Quinlan bag I wanted to do, and got some help finding the perfect fabrics for it - it will be a fantastic autumn bag, with sunflower lining :) I absolutely did not plan on spending all my money there - I was looking for a new belt for my jeans, for crying out loud! - but how could I not? It was a quilter's dream come true, and I'm not even a quilter! I'll have to remember to bring extra cash for stash shopping the next time we go visit my parents ;)

Now I have some packing to do, and no idea when I'll be online again. We don't have a telephone line or a broadband connection at the rental house (houseowner's mistake, not ours), but I'll do my best to come back here some time later in July. If all else fails, I'll go to the library and use the computers there. Until next time, all my love

15 June 2009

Crafty comeback!

Woohoo! My crafty mojo is definitely back - I have a hard time finding enough hours for all the stuff I want to make right now... Mostly, it has to do with Barbies and fulfilling little H's wishes, but I'm also xs'ing into the dark hours of the night.

I've even got my new camera now, so I can show you some of what I've been up to! First off, my Barbie (from now on called Emma, just so there will be no confusion as to whose dolls I'm creating for here - no need to pretend) in her brand new outfit. A girl's got to have a nice formfitting cotton dress now in the summer for sightseeing and such, and of course a new handbag is necessary as well.


Credits: Background - my own pond in the garden, an hour ago. Dress pattern: from Barbiebasics (Lynne Sears) Handbag pattern: Entirely my own, just crochet in the round or something, and play around until you get the right shape (or comment here, if you want to know specifics) and make a chain of stitches so the doll in question can hang the finished handbag over her shoulder.

Other than that - I discovered the Twilight saga, that's why I've been away for so long now. I just HAD to see what all the fuzz was all about, read the first one and very soon realized I had to know what happened next - so of course I took myself down to the bookshop and bought the rest of them (in English, of course). I think the last one took me two days, the others a day each (ah the joys of being on holiday when the kid's in school). I had no idea you were "allowed" to write words like hadn't've - I was always told to only use one short form at the time... The times they are a'changing, aren't they.

My L&L Santa is coming along, but so far I only have a sleeve to show, so I don't. I will post pics when it's actually possible to see more than red, though. :)

I've got myself a summer job! Yay! At least we won't go bancrupt _this_ summer - I don't know about the next, I'll probably have to go to Norway and work a little (it's better paid) to afford some kind of a holiday next summer. I will be doing days for two weeks, and then I'll be working the night shift for three weeks after that. And then it's back to school again... I try to prepare for the autumn term by reading about viruses and bacteria, but I keep falling asleep... Any ideas how to stay awake? I won't be taking *that* book for the night shifts, that's for sure!

Oh my what a long post this turned out to be! And I haven't even told you about all the cardboard boxes everywhere - we're moving in 2 weeks! Yikes! - or that we've chosen the wallpapers for the house we're building! Ah well, that will be an other blog post. Gotta save some for a rainy day! :)

Lots of love,