Showing posts with label rants. Show all posts
Showing posts with label rants. Show all posts

22 September 2009

Loose in the real world again!

So, we've been let out of school and they've set us loose in the real world this week! This time I've actually been allowed to punch a needle into someone and see if they have blood in them! And yes, I was successful. We've been trained in how to draw capillary blood before, but this time we actually set the needle to skin and got entire blood samples! It wasn't half as scary as I thought, probably because I've mostly been angry that I haven't been ALLOWED to even try on another nurse, so when it finally happened, I was so stunned I didn't think too much - and hit the motherload on the first try. :)

On the microbiology side of things - I'm a bit shocked at how experienced nurses, with the wealth of knowledge they have on bacteriae, viruses and diseases, don't even use gloves when poking holes in people and drawing blood! Lots of the time, they don't even disinfect their hands between patients - and who knows what that patient had on his/her hands after their visit to the bathroom?!?! I admit that I might be a little overly cautious and too aware of the dangers in this world now, but I firmly believe that if you're working in a health facility you need to get real and see that you're not dealing with healthy people who can take minor infections without even noticing them, you're dealing with people who already have something to struggle with and who don't need more germs in their systems!

Shoot me at will if I'm wrong (I know I'm not), but it's a question of common curtesy to keep your hands clean - whether you work with sick people or not! Would YOU want to have poo on your hands after shaking someone else's hand??? Same thing with sneezing - snot - or picking your nose... Sure, do it if you want, but clean your hands before touching ANYTHING else! What's on your hands right now will in four seconds be in your eyes, mouth, food...
Ok, so that was this week's rant - do let me know if I have made ANYONE better at washing their hands after this ;)




15 May 2008

Life is a rollercoaster...

You just gotta ride it! (to quote a rather famous song)

I've been on such highs and lows these past three days, I can hardly believe it myself. Persons in the company's leading team using foul language about employees - to their face! - and saying what's been agreed and signed on, no longer is valid. Computers acting up like crazy. People not telling us that they don't have the time to ship to our customers until it is too late - so we've basically been lying to our customers for two days about the delivery date! People not being at their desk, so I get stuck with all customer calls, invoicing, orders and purchasing - I've hardly had the time to breathe! I wonder how the h*** the company is supposed to survive if three more people in the office are supposed to quit, not to mention how we're supposed to manage production with 7 people less down there...

My prediction? What will be left here in three years, is the production facility, production manager, purchasing of raw material and goods in/out. No economy department, no sales department, no R&D department... These days I'm rather happy I will be going to school this autumn instead of working here, because this is unbearable much longer. There's no spunk left in people, and the spiral is only going down...

And then again, we've laughed so hard we cried, hugged eachother and said nice things to eachother... We're going to see yet another house the coming Monday, but I can't really seem to get up the excitement about it - I'm a bit tired it seems.

Life is truly a rollercoaster!

09 February 2008

About nothing

I've tried to come up with something to post on my blog for a week now, but what should I write about?
- that I feel like s**t today, probably have a fever and snaps at everyone? (Hannah doesn't deserve that kind of mother, and hubby doesn't need it either, so I've gone into the bedroom and closed the door behind me.)
- or should I write about the fact that my training isn't going my way; I don't feel any stronger and it certainly doesn't show when I go shopping. I'm still overweight (OK not that much, but I don't like the extra 15 kilos Hannah gave me 4 years ago!), my arms are still flabby and my butt looks like a barn door. Even the H&M virtual model tells me I need to lose weight, and the only thing I want to do is close the door and eat an entire chocolate bar all by myself.

And then, when I try to figure out something to post on my blog, I call my brother on a trivial matter and he tells me his brain is dying. Little by little he loses the finer motor skills and the doctors don't know what's wrong or what to do about it. They do know it's not epilepsia, but his brain "reboots" itself every now and then without any apparent reason. Where's dr House when you need him?
My brother can no longer type on the computer using all his fingers, he's back to typing one letter at the time using his index fingers.

I wonder what will be the next to go?

12 July 2007

Pics missing!

I've been meaning to post quite a few happy dances here, but I keep forgetting the cable for my camera! *hitting self on head* Today I forgot both the camera AND the cable, yesterday it was the cable and the day before it was the camera itself...

Hubby always says he's happy as long as I remember where my home is when I leave work in the afternoon - I guess he has a point, I can pretty much forget everything. I manage to put on my clothes somehow respectably, and I never forget shoes, but other than that I think I've forgotten everything. Keys, wallet, lunch box, cell phone - everything that isn't attached to my body somehow will be left behind if I'm having a distracted day. Yet I seem to remember the strangest stuff, like names of strange diseases and syndroms - I guess I am meant to be something in the caring/medical line of business...?